What is Emergency Homeowners’ VA Loan Program all about?

The Emergency Homeowners’ Loan Program (EHLP) is intended to offer a zero interest, forgivable bridge loan to homeowners who are experiencing a drop in income of at least 15% directly.

This drop in income may result from involuntary unemployment or underemployment due to adverse economic conditions and/or any medical emergency.

Here are list of eligibility criteria which the homeowners’ need to meet in order to qualify for EHLP:

  • Mortgage delinquency: The homeowner applying for EHLP should be at least 3 months delinquent on their mortgage payments.
  • Chances of foreclosure: The homeowner should have received notification from the lender about his intention to foreclose the property as a result of the delinquent payments.
  • Income: The homeowner applying for EHLPS should have a total household income equal to/or less than $75,000 or 120% of the Area Median Income (whichever is greater) for a household size of 4 persons previous to loss of income.
  • Changes of resuming payment: The homeowner applying for EHLP should have a reasonable likelihood of resuming mortgage payment within 2 years.
  • He/she should also be able to meet other housing expenses and debt obligations when his/her family income rises above 85% of the previous level.
  • Primary property: The homeowner should reside in the mortgaged property and should declare it as his/her primary property.
  • This should remain the same at the time of application as well as for the duration of the program period.
  • Single family home: The property should be a single family residence i.e. it should be a 1 - 4 unit structure or a condominium unit.

Application process for EHLP:
In order to apply for EHLP, the homeowner will have to complete the Screening Documents which will include Worksheet and Third-Party Authorization.

These documents should be submitted to an EHLP Agency.

Duration of EHLP Assistance:
Homeowners who are approved for EHLP will receive assistance for a maximum time period of 2 years.

Maximum Amount offered under EHLPS:
Homeowners who qualify for EHLP will receive a maximum loan amount of $50,000 in total assistance.

States that will participate in EHLP:
The EHLP funds will be used to assist borrowers living in Puerto Rico and 32 other states. These states are as follows:

Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.


The certificate of eligibility issued by the Department of Veteran Affairs, United States ensures that you have qualified to get a home loan guaranteed by the Veteran Affairs.

The applications for eligibilityinclude the following documents:

  • Original determination of eligibility for the home loan benefit.
  • A request to replace your lost certificate of eligibility.
  • A request to restore the benefit after paying off a previous VA loan as a whole.
  • Issuing a certificate which states that you are currently managing a refinance loan.